17 Feb


Bayelsa State has undertaken to host subsequent editions of the annual Nigerian Broadcasters Award (NIBRA) organised by the Broadcasting Organisation of Nigeria (BON).

Governor Seriake Dickson, who announced the decision at the maiden edition of the awards ceremony held at the Dr. Gabriel Okara Cultural Centre, Yenagoa, directed the State Tourism Development Agency to work out the modalities.

“Government is ready to partner with BON as Yenagoa is fast becoming the Capital of leisure and entertainment of Nigeria. I appreciate the organisers for bringing this event to Yenagoa as the state is broadcast friendly and will work with the organisers” he said.

Governor Dickson, who described the staging of the event in Yenagoa as timely, congratulated those that emerged winners of the various categories of the awards.

He charged the organisers to tell the Bayelsa story of peace, transformation, security and the hospitality of the people, emphasizing that the support for Arts and Culture is an integral part of the restoration agenda of the State Government.

In his remarks, the Minister of Culture and Tourism, Chief Edem Duke expressed satisfaction with the awards ceremony, noting that it will enhance professionalism in the broadcast industry.

The chairman of BON, Mallam Abubakar Jijiwa, stated that, the achievements of the Bayelsa State Government informed the decision of the organisation to bring the awards ceremony to Yenagoa.

Abubakar Jijiwa described Bayelsa State “as the capital of Arts, Culture and entertainment of Nigerians”, noting that BON has received robust support from different agencies of the State Government”.

Highlight of the ceremony was the performance by the Umoja Cultural Troupe from Johannesburg, South Africa, Omawumi, Wande Coal and other guest artistes, who thrilled the audience with dance and music.

Twenty two persons were presented with awards, including Seiyefa Akeboa of Glory FM, Yenagoa, who won the award for the most valuable talk show host (2013), Ruth Benamaisia-Opia, the NIBRA Jury award winner and Christopher Kolade as the most valuable lifetime achievement award.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: